Many assault cases are connected to issues of family violence, which is different from domestic violence in only one way — domestic violence involves assault between a married couple, while family violence is related to assault among:
- Anyone related by blood
- Parents of the same child
- Foster children and parents
- Former or current spouses
It's no matter whether the above live together, but Texas Family Code also defines family violence as assault between roommates and individuals in a romantic relationship. In Texas, assault/family violence is considered to be a Class C misdemeanor but could also be considered a serious felony under certain circumstances, such as those of aggravated assault or aggravated assault using a deadly weapon.
Assault & Family Violence Charges in Texas
In Texas, different offenses can fall under family violence; the most common, along with penalties, include:
- Assault: Any kind of offensive bodily contact; Class C misdemeanor that could result in a $500 fine
- Assault Family Violence: Class A misdemeanor that could result in up to 364 days in jail or a $4,000 fine
- Assault Family Violence with a previous conviction: 3rd degree felony that could result in 2-10 years in prison and/or up to a $10,000 fine
- Continuous Family Violence: Two or more incidents in a year; 3rd degree felony that could result in 2-10 years in prison and/or up to a $10,000 fine
- Aggravated assault. Serious physical harm with a deadly weapon; 1st degree felony that could result in up to 99 years in prison with a $10,000 fine
Anyone can have these charges brought against them. Oftentimes, family violence cases start from a false accusation or an exaggerated claim — so it's important that we work together with all the facts pertaining to your case.